Mahama meets MPs who lost re-election

Mahama - Rapid News GH

John Dramani Mahama, the candidate for the National Democratic Congress (NDC), has met with the party’s current lawmakers who failed to win re-election in the parliamentary primary on May 13, 2023.

Fifi Kwetey, the general secretary of the NDC, Julius Debrah, the convener of the John Mahama 2024 primary campaign, and Prof. Joshua Alabi were also present. The Minority Caucus in Parliament was also represented.

The 17 sitting MPs who failed to win re-election were also present and will run on the party’s ticket in the general election of 2024.


Alhaji A.B.A Fuseini, Mrs. Della Sowah, Edward Bawa, and Wisdom Gidisu are the representatives for Sagnarigu, Kpando, Bongo, and Krachi East, respectively.

Others include Dr. Kwabena Donkor, MP for Pru East; Angela Alorwu-Tay, MP for Afadzato South; Kobena Mensah Woyome, MP for South Tongu; Alex Adomako, MP for Sekyere Afram Plains; Abeiku Crentsil, MP for Ekumfi; and Albert Alasoka, MP for Garu.

Sampson Chiragia, MP for Navrongo Central, Augustine Tawiah, MP for Bia West, Christian Otuteye, MP for Sege, Peter Kwakye Ackah, MP for Amenfi Central, Thomas Adda Dalu, MP for Chiana-Paga, and Sophia Ackuaku, MP for Domeabra-Obom, who moved to run in Ayawaso Central, round out the remaining candidates.


In his acceptance address after being chosen as the NDC’s flag bearer, Mr. Mahama vowed to bring the party’s members together, stating that there were no victors or losers in the internal elections.

He consequently pleaded for everyone’s assistance and urged all party members to stick together in order to win the general election in 2024.

“Our party is the winner because there are no individual winners and losers in the party’s contest,” he claimed.

All of our elected parliamentary candidates, their supporters, and hopefuls, as well as all of the constituencies across the nation, I also beg for collaboration, Mr. Mahama stated.

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *