Partey and Kudus nominated for CAF award

Partey - Rapid News GH

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has nominated Thomas Partey and Mohammed Kudus of Ghana’s senior men’s football squad for the Men’s Footballer of the Year award.

On Wednesday, November 1, 2023, the Confederation of African Football published the nominees.

Prior to the Awards Gala, which is set for Monday, December 11, 2023, in Marrakech, Morocco, the English Premier League pair is one of thirty players nominated for the top honor.

While Thomas Partey, a defensive midfielder or right-back, plays for Arsenal after leaving Atletico Madrid in October 2020, Mohammed Kudus, an attacking midfielder or right-winger, joined West Ham United from Ajax Amsterdam in the summer. Partey

At the FIFA World Cup in Qatar in 2022, both of the superstars from Ghana played for the Black Stars.


According to the release, a group of African football luminaries, CAF Technical specialists, and chosen media representatives from several nations assembled the preliminary list for each category.

This is predicated on how well the nominees performed throughout the period under consideration, which runs from November 2022 to September 2023.

The Men’s Footballer of the Year award shortlist consisted of thirty finalists for the top category.

There are 20 nominations for the CAF Inter-Club Player of the Year, 10 nominations for Coach of the Year, 20 nominations for the CAF National Team of the Year, Club of the Year, and CAF Young Player of the Year for players under 21.

“The ultimate winner of each category will be decided after votes from a voting panel consisting of CAF Technical Committee, media professionals, head coaches and captains of Member Associations and clubs involved in the group stages of the Interclub competitions,” it stated.

At the most recent Awards Gala in July 2022 in Rabat, Morocco, Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala earned the CAF African Women’s Player of the Year for a record-tying fifth time, while Senegal’s Sadio Mane was named CAF African Player of the Year.

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *